ship logo General Reference Guides Census Records Military Records African-American Records Other States New Titles E-Books
          Home             Reference                 Census Records       Military           African-American         Other States         New Titles           E-BOOKS     FREE SHIPPING IN USA

Iberian Publishing Company's On-Line Catalog:
The Growth of Virginia, 1634-1895:
Kentucky, 1781-1790

KY 1781-1790

The three counties which had replaced Kentucky County in 1780 proved just as unmanageable as their predecessor. As the Revolution ended and Confederation days ensued, newer, smaller units began to replace the former trio. But as the same sorts of distance-related problems continued in administering the now nine Kentucky country counties, a new move began to split off from Virginia overlordship entirely. Virginia acquiesced in 1789, ceding these counties voluntarily to Federal control. Within another three years, the whole area beyond the Cumberlands had been admitted into the Federal Union as a new State of Kentucky.

1785 - Nelson (Jefferson)
1786 - Madison (Lincoln)
1786 - Mercer (Lincoln)
1786 - Bourbon (Fayette)
1789 - Mason (Bourbon)
1789 - Woodford (Fayette)

Go to Virginia map, 1791-1800
Return to Virginia Maps Introduction page

[adapted from Michael Doran, Atlas of County Boundary Changes in Virginia, 1634-1895], available under General References

|| Virginia/W.Va. || General Reference || Military Records ||
|| Other States || Genealogy Links || New Titles
|| Home Page || E-Books ||

Copyright 2024 Iberian Publishing Company