ship logo General Reference Guides Census Records Military Records African-American Records Other States New Titles E-Books
          Home             Reference                 Census Records       Military           African-American         Other States         New Titles           E-BOOKS     FREE SHIPPING IN USA

Iberian Publishing Company's On-Line Catalog:
The Growth of Virginia, 1634-1895:

VA 1811-1820

The preoccupation of the United States leading up to and through the War of 1812 was reflected in an absence of county formation until 1814. In that year, Scott was formed from Lee, Russell, and Washington in the upper Ridge and Valley area, and Tyler was taken from Ohio on the northwestern margin of Virginia. Further division occurred on the Appalachian Plateau with the creation of Lewis from Harrison in 1816, and in 1818 the forming of Preston from Monongalia and Nicholas from Greenbrier, Kanawha, and Randolph. And in 1820 Berkeley and Harrison provided lands to make Morgan.

1814 - Scott (Lee, Russell, Washington)
1814 - Tyler (Ohio)
1816 - Lewis (Harrison)
1816 - Nicholas (Greenbrier, Kanawha, Randolph)
1820 - Morgan (Berkeley, Hampshire)

Go to Virginia map, 1821-1830
Return to Virginia Maps Introduction page

[adapted from Michael Doran, Atlas of County Boundary Changes in Virginia, 1634-1895], available under General References

|| Virginia/W.Va. || General Reference || Military Records ||
|| Other States || Genealogy Links || New Titles
|| Home Page || E-Books ||

Copyright 2024 Iberian Publishing Company